NBC shuts down AIT, Silverbird and others *See full list of TV and radio stations pending closure


The regulator, National Broadcasting Commission (NBC), has announced the revocation of broadcast licenses for Silverbird TV, African Independent Television (AIT), Raypower FM, Rhythm FM and other stations.

NBC chief executive Balarabe Shehu, who announced the news, said the development followed the failure of stations to renew their broadcast licenses.

Shehu ordered the Commission’s state offices to liaise with security agencies to ensure the stations’ operations are halted within the next 24 hours.

He said the stations owed about N2.6 billion in debt.
According to him, in May 2022, the commission published in the national daily newspapers the names of the stations which had not yet renewed their license and granted them two weeks to renew their licenses and pay their debt or have their licenses withdrawn, frequencies withdrawn and reallocated to others. who were willing to comply with the necessary requirements.

He said that three months after publication, some licenses had yet to pay their debt in violation of the Commission’s CAP Act N11, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, in particular Section 10(a) of the third schedule of the law.

He called out all stations that did not renew their licenses for the current term and were told to do so within 30 days to avoid penalties.

He called on all internet protocol television (IPTV) and other broadcast stations that broadcast online to register with the commission to avoid disconnection.

Ilelah said that before revoking their licenses, the commission discussed with affected stations for a year, but they refused to partner and pay.

He said that even if they paid their fees, they would have to pay for a restart to get back on the air.

Complete list of TV/radio stations affected

Silverbird TV Network (Silverbird Communications Co. Ltd)
Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd)
AIT/Ray Power FM (DAAR Communication Itd)
Greetings FM (Greetings Media Ltd)
Tao FM (Ovidi Communications Ltd)
Zuma FM (Zuma FM Ltd)
Crowther FM (Crowther Communications Ltd)
We FM (Kings Broadcasting Ltd)
Linksman International Ltd.
Bomay Broadcasting Services Itd
MITV (Murhi International Group Ltd)
Classical FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd)
Classical FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd)
Classic Television (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd)
Beat FM (Megalectrics LTD)
Cooper Communications Itd
Splash FM (West Midlands Ltd)
Rock City FM (Boot Communications Itd)
FM Family (Kalaks Investments Nig. Ltd)
Space FM (Creazioni Nig. Ltd)
Radio Jeremi (Radio Jeremi ltd)
FM Abuja
FM Lagos
FM Yenagoa
FM Port Harcourt
FM Jos
Wave FM (South Atlantic Media Itd)
Kogi State Broadcasting Corporation
Kwara State Broadcasting Corporation
Niger State Broadcasting Company
FM Network
FM Okene,
FM Suleja
FM Abuja
FM Benin
Breeze FM (Bays Water Ltd)
Vibes FM (Vibes Communication Itd)
Family Love FM (Multimesh Broadcasting Co. Ltd) Port-Harcourt
Port Harcourt
Gombe State Broadcasting Company
Lagos DSB
Lagos State Broadcasting Corporation
Osun State Broadcasting Corporation
Ogun State Broadcasting Corporation
Ondo State Broadcasting Corporation
Rivers State Broadcasting Corporation
Bayelsa State Broadcasting Company
Cross River State Broadcasting Corporation
IMO State Broadcasting Corporation
Anambra State Broadcasting Corporation
Borno State Broadcasting Corporation
Yobe State Broadcasting Corporation
Sokoto State Broadcasting Corporation
Zamfara State Broadcasting Corporation
Kebbi State Broadcasting Company
Jigawa State Broadcasting Corporation
Kaduna State Broadcasting Corporation
Katsina State Broadcasting Corporation


Comments are closed.