Governor Newsom signs nation-leading social media transparency measure



SACRAMENTO — Governor Gavin Newsom announced today that he has signed a social media transparency measure, the first of its kind, to protect Californians from hate and misinformation being spread online. Assemblyman Jesse Gabriel’s (D-Encino) AB 587 will require social media companies to publicly post their policies regarding hate speech, misinformation, harassment and extremism on their platforms, and that they report data on their application of the policies.

“California will not sit idly by as social media is armed to spread hate and misinformation that threatens our communities and core values ​​as a country,” Governor Newsom said. “California deserve to know how these platforms impact our public discourse, and this action brings much-needed transparency and accountability to the policies that shape the social media content we consume every day. I thank Assemblyman Gabriel for championing this important step to protect Californians from the hate, harassment, and lies being spread online.

Governor Newsom Signs Assemblyman Gabriel’s AB 587

“Social media has created incredible opportunities, but also real and immediate threats to our children, to vulnerable communities, and to American democracy as we know it,” said Assemblyman Gabriel. “This new law will finally draw the curtain and compel tech companies to provide meaningful transparency about how they shape our public discourse, as well as the role of social media in promoting hate speech, misinformation, conspiracy theories and other dangerous content. I am grateful to Governor Newsom for signing this bill into law and for his leadership in protecting children and vulnerable communities online.

A full list of bills signed by the Governor can be viewed below:

  • AB 98 by Assemblyman Ash Kalra (D-San Jose) – Linked House Restrictions: Advertising Exceptions: City of San Jose.
  • AB 524 by Assemblyman Freddie Rodriguez (D-Pomona) – Post-Secondary Education: Recognized Campus Fraternities and Sororities Transparency Act.
  • AB 587 by Assemblyman Jesse Gabriel (D-Encino) – Social Media Companies: Terms of Service.
  • AB 1208 by Assemblyman Philip Ting (D-San Francisco) – Unclaimed Property: Secure Payment of Claims.
  • AB 1323 by Assemblyman Matt Haney (D-San Francisco) – Liquor Control: Home-Related Exceptions.
  • AB 1330 by Assemblyman Chad Mayes (I-Rancho Mirage) – Alcoholic Beverage Restrictions: Exceptions: Riverside County.
  • AB 1672 by Rep. Tasha Boerner Horvath (D-Encinitas) – Public Pools: Lifeguards.
  • AB 1793 by Congressman Bill Quirk (D-Hayward) – Hazardous Waste: Identification: Acute Aquatic Toxicity Criteria.
  • AB 1845 by Assemblywoman Lisa Calderon (D-Whittier) – Metropolitan Water District of Southern California: Alternative Methods of Project Delivery.
  • AB 1901 by Assemblyman Adrin Nazarian (D-North Hollywood) – Dog Training Services: Disclosure Requirement.
  • AB 1907 by Congresswoman Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D-Orinda) – Long Term Care Facilities: Inspections.
  • AB 2059 by Assembly Member Wendy Carrillo (D-Los Angeles) – Business and Area Plans for Hazardous Materials: Consumer Products: Record Keeping.
  • AB 2158 by Assemblyman Mike Fong (D-Alhambra) – Local Educational Agencies: Ethics Training.
  • AB 2160 by Assemblyman Steve Bennett (D-Ventura) – Coastal Resources: Coastal Development Permit: Fee.
  • AB 2254 by Assemblyman Al Muratsuchi (D-Torrance) – State Roads: Route 107: Abandoned.
  • AB 2280 by Assembly Member Eloise Gómez Reyes (D-Colton) – Unclaimed Property: Interest Assessments and Document Disclosure.
  • AB 2311 by Assemblyman Brian Maienschein (D-San Diego) – Motor Vehicle Conditional Sales Agreements: Secured Asset Protection Waivers.
  • AB 2322 by Assemblyman Jim Wood (D-Santa Rosa) – California Building Standards: Fire Resistance: Occupancy Hazard Categories.
  • AB 2449 by Assembly Member Blanca Rubio (D-Baldwin Park) – Open meetings: local agencies: teleconferences.
  • AB 2453 by Assemblyman Steve Bennett (D-Ventura) – Transactions and Use Taxes: Ventura County Transportation Commission.
  • AB 2515 by Assemblyman Chris Holden (D-Pasadena) – Proprietary and Private Security Services.
  • AB 2559 by Assemblyman Christopher Ward (D-San Diego) – Reusable Tenant Screening Reports.
  • AB 2644 by Assemblyman Chris Holden (D-Pasadena) – Detention interrogation.
  • AB 2671 by Assemblyman Marc Berman (D-Menlo Park) – Occupational Therapy.
  • AB 2727 by Assemblyman Jim Wood (D-Santa Rosa) – Medi-Cal: Eligibility.
  • AB 2848 by Assemblyman Miguel Santiago (D-Los Angeles) – Workers’ Compensation: Medical Treatment.
  • AB 2916 by Assemblyman Kevin McCarty (D-Sacramento) – Contractors: disclosure of warning letters.
  • AB 2921 by Assemblyman Miguel Santiago (D-Los Angeles) – Alcoholic beverages.
  • AB 2956 by Transportation Committee – Transportation.
  • AB 2971 by the Committee on Government Organization – Control of Alcoholic Beverages: Fees.
  • SB 34 by Sen. Thomas Umberg (D-Santa Ana) – Public contracts: agent: limitations.
  • SB 401 by Sen. Richard Pan (D-Sacramento) – Psychology: Unprofessional Conduct: Disciplinary Action: Sexual Acts.
  • SB 440 by Sen. Bill Dodd (D-Napa) – State Board of Equalization: Returns and Payment: Extension: State of Emergency.
  • SB 963 by Sen. John Laird (D-Santa Cruz) – Historic Preservation: California Cultural and Historical Endowment: Grant Programs.
  • SB 1057 by the Education Committee – Elementary and Secondary Education: Omnibus Bill.
  • SB 1120 by Sen. Brian W. Jones (R-Santee) – Engineering, Surveying and Geology.
  • SB 1175 by Sen. Mike McGuire (D-Healdsburg) – Department of Transportation: Intermodal Passenger Services: Rail Corridors.
  • SB 1280 by Sen. Ben Hueso (D-San Diego) – Linked House Restrictions: Advertisement: San Diego State University.
  • SB 1294 by Sen. Dave Cortese (D-San Jose) – Workforce Wellness Center: Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority.
    SB 1359 by Sen. Ben Hueso (D-San Diego) – Vehicles: License Plate.
  • SB 1392 by Sen. Mike McGuire (D-Healdsburg) – Aquaculture: registration, renewal, surcharge and penalty fees: reports.
  • SB 1398 by Senator Lena Gonzalez (D-Long Beach) – Vehicles: Consumer Advisory.
  • SB 1405 by Senator Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh (R-Yucaipa) – Community Service Districts: Lake Arrowhead Community Service District: Covenants, Conditions and Restrictions: Enforcement.
  • SB 1422 by Sen. Robert Hertzberg (D-Van Nuys) – Acquisition of Goods and Services: Alternative Contracting Procedures: Installation of Carpeting, Resilient Flooring, Synthetic Turf, and Lighting Fixtures: Pilot.
  • SB 1437 by Senator Richard D. Roth (D-Riverside) – Interior Designers.

The Governor also announced that he had vetoed the following bills:

  • AB 92 by Congresswoman Eloise Gómez Reyes (D-Colton) – Preschool and child care and development services: family fees. A veto message can be found here.
  • AB 1707 by Assemblywoman Tasha Boerner Horvath (D-Encinitas) – Property Tax Deferral: Property Tax Deferral Fund for Seniors and Citizens with Disabilities. A veto message can be found here.
  • AB 1820 by Assembly Member Dr. Joaquin Arambula (D-Fresno) – Labor Standards Enforcement Division: Labor Trafficking Unit. A veto message can be found here.
  • AB 1879 by Assemblyman Devon Mathis (R-Porterville) – California Regional Water Quality Commissions: Complaints Unfounded or Frivolous. A veto message can be found here.
  • AB 1919 by Assemblyman Chris Holden (D-Pasadena) – Youth Transit Pass Pilot Program: Free youth transit passes. A veto message can be found here.
  • AB 2814 by Assemblyman Jim Wood (D-Santa Rosa) – Local Educational Agencies: Emergency Planning Grants. A veto message can be found here.
  • SB 944 by Sen. Richard Pan (D-Sacramento) – California Health Benefit Exchange: Affordability Help. A veto message can be found here.

Comments are closed.