National Fire Prevention Week is celebrated this week to educate citizens about fire prevention and safety. The Forestry Division of the Tennessee Department of Agriculture is joining the fire prevention awareness effort and reminding citizens that our state is heading into fire season. A debris burning permit is required for leaf and brush piles from October 15 to May 15 of each season.
âFire prevention is everyone’s responsibility,â said State Forester David Arnold. âThanks to precipitation, the number of forest fires is low so far this fall. However, it is still necessary to practice safe debris burning and remember that state permits are required starting next week in areas where local governments have not issued fire orders. burning outside.
Debris burning permits for leaf and brush piles are available free of charge through the MyTN mobile app or online at www.BurnSafeTN.org. Online permits can be obtained daily from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m. Central Time for leaf and brush piles of any size. Each pile must be completely removed by the expiration of the permit. For large-scale burns, such as forestry, agriculture, and land clearing, call the Forestry Division’s Burning Permit phone number at 877-350-BURN (2876) Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 pm If you have limited Internet access, this number can also be used for a debris burning permit, but callers can expect long wait times when call volumes are high.
Permits are only issued when conditions are favorable for a safe burn. If you live within city limits, check with your municipality for additional restrictions before you burn.
A list of materials that are not permitted to be burned can be found from the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation at www.tn.gov/environment/program-areas/apc-air-pollution-control-home/apc/open-burning.html.
Scroll down to find out more …
Burning without a license is a Class C offense and carries a penalty of up to 30 days in prison and / or a fine. Forest fires caused by arson are a Class C felony punishable by three to 15 years in prison and up to $ 10,000 in fines. Anyone with information about suspected arson activity should call the State Fire Marshal’s Arson Hotline at 1-800-762-3017. The hotline is answered 24 hours a day and callers can remain anonymous. Cash rewards are offered for information leading to an arrest or conviction. Call 1-888-891-TDEC to report an illegal burn.
Visit www.BurnSafeTN.org for additional tips on how to burn safely and protect your community.